Graduation

Every end is a new beginning.

I have a thing for cliche sayings, and this is one of them. IB exams are over, I got into UBC, everything’s done. I received my high school diploma from Jakarta International School last week. I’ve been anticipating graduation since January. However, its only now after I’ve graduated that it has started to hit me: high school is over.

People have started to leave Jakarta, either going back home or going somewhere else to continue their studies at the tertiary level. The Filipinos in the Class of 2008 who were going back to the Philippines for university left this week – they start school next week. I feel sorry for them in a way – not because they’re going back to the Philippines – but because they only had a week-long holiday between the end of high school and the start of college!

I’ve been anticipating graduation for so long, and now that it has already happened, I find myself asking “now what?” With friends leaving (5 of my friends left the country on a permanent basis) within the next few weeks (I’m in Jakarta till August), I’m starting to see the world as I knew it beginning to slowly collapse. I didn’t think that I’d never see some of my high school friends again.

High school had both its pros and cons. I didn’t like the “school” part of high school, but I certainly enjoyed my time with friends. The routine I basically bound my life to during my senior year, which consisted of eating, sleeping, chillax-sessions with friends, 2 am homework sessions, swim practice, procrastination and club meetings was something that I both loved and hated, but will certainly miss.

**

Sorry for a sappy post. I’m slowly regaining my blojo (blogging mojo)

Leave a comment